Skip to content

In my former life

May 12, 2010

This blog is supposed to be dedicated mostly to photos that I have taken over the years but, every once in awhile I will write a post about who I am or what I like. Taking photos are just one side of me -instant gratification/easy to see the beauty/something to remember a moment or a place. The other artistic sides are designer and artist. While I love to be able to have the talent to do all things ‘art’, my heart is painting.

Growing up my paintings were realistic in style- beautifully classic. But they really said nothing about me except for the fact that I had good technical skills and that I could create something beautiful. I painted subjects that were made famous by other people- cake like Wayne Thiebaud or flowers like Georgia O’Keeffe.

In 2003 a few things happened that changed my life. The summer after I graduated college I explored Italy with my mother- seeing the Venice Biennale, Pompeii, and art by Takashi Murakami for the first time. It changed how I looked at art and life as an artist. I decided I wanted my art to be more simple and more based on how someone feels. So as soon as I came back I started drawing differently. I started exploring art in a totally different approach. Working as a designer I have learned that the easiest and fastest method for a person to process a complex message or story is through a visual image. So with my art, I explore different layers of understanding and consistently compel myself to reach beyond traditional boundaries.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

