Skip to content

Keep calm and carry on

September 3, 2010

A few years ago I saw the “Keep Calm and Carry On” poster which was originally designed in 1939 for the British Government’s Ministry of Information’s  series of propaganda posters to be distributed throughout the country at the onset of hostilities. It was feared that in the early months of the war Britain would be subjected to gas attacks, heavy bombing raids and even invasion. The posters were intended to offer the public reassurance in the dark days which lay ahead.

In typical ‘me’ fashion, when I first saw it I thought to myself “That’s nice and a little funny.” But now as the pressure of fall is upon me and my calendar gets filled, I remember all the other “Keep Calm…” inspired posters which have applied to my life more.

Leave a Reply

