Skip to content

Pulse NYC 2011

March 5, 2011

I really like Scope and Pulse as a concept. I think the art is so much different than the art at the Armory. But in the New York shows I think Scope was better than Pulse. Either way, here is what I liked.

Shay Kun – I thought this was so beautiful and so bright.

Shay Kun

Andres Basurto – Skulls made out of broken beer bottles. I always like Mexican art with skulls. These would be cool if they were hung in a place that sunlight that poured through the glass.

Andres Basurto

Andres Basurto

Shimon Okshteyn – “Chanel #5” Beautiful painting but things like this I think are kind of cheap, but also a smart business decision. This painting will sell but not because of the technical ability of the artist. To make money or to not make money…

Shimon Okshteyn

Melissa Cooke – “Afternoon Delight” This is a drawing(!) Incredible technical skill.

Melissa cooke

Tim Etchells – “Please Come Back”

Tim Etchells

Maisie Broadhead – “Nipple Pinch” Based on the french painting below. Very cute, tongue in cheek, adaptation.

Maisie Broadhead

Firelei Baez – Very small but exotic paintings. The photo does not do them any justice of how beautiful they really were.

Firelei Baez

David Antonio Cruz – “Dorothy, Back off my pink chair” I usually do not like this type of art but, there was something about this one that was alluring.

David Antonio Cruz

Hadieh Shafie – “11575 Pages” Rolled up painted pieces of paper.

Hadieh Shafie

Hadieh Shafie

Jorge Mayet – Reminded me of my disaster paintings.

Jorge Mayet

Kristofer Porter – Surreal and a little disturbing. I liked it.

Kristofer Porter

Dieter Rehm – Looks like a cheap photoshop trick but I think it turned out well.

Dieter Rehm

Paul Villinski – I originally saw this artist a few years ago. I think his work is quite subtle but beautiful.

Paul Villinski

William Betts – “YYZ” Tiny acrylic dots that created a pixel-like image of a plane. I saw another piece like this by a different artist at the Armory. Its interesting seeing digital concepts being brought into traditional art.

William Betts

Jens Schubert – All of these stamps on the floor were used to make the framed image.  It was interesting to see so many things incorporated into one.

 Jens Schubert

 Jens Schubert

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

