Skip to content

Scope NYC

March 5, 2011

Spent my Thursday wandering around the art shows. Scope was my first venture and this is what I liked.

The series paintings are by Joel Grossman and are called “Brief History of The Reclining Nude“. If you are familiar with art history the paintings that this artist copied are some of the most important nudes. I’m not exactly sure how I feel about this. A part of me loves the paintings but the other side of me thinks that they are a color-by-number version of the original.

Joel Grossman brief history of nude

These ants are from an installation that was in Colombia. It was called “Casa Tomada” or “House Taken” is an original symbiosis between nature and art in the mind of Colombian artist Rafael GĂłmezbarros. You can see more photos of the actual installation, when you click here

Shi Jindian – I just thought this was cool.

Shi Jindian

Lluis Barba. As far as I can tell this artist incorporates pop culture images into old paintings. I am a fan of Bosch-like imagery so this image I really liked. Its an interesting concept- new meeting old.

lluis Barba triumph of death

lluis Barba triumph of death

lluis Barba triumph of death

Steve McCurry. I loved these photographs so much. They were so beautiful and so haunting. The miner seemed so scary but so beautiful. The quality seemed so familiar. I realized later that McCurry took the famous NatGeo photo of the Afgan girl.

Steve McCurry

Steve McCurry

Steve McCurry

Jennifer Catron & Paul Outlaw. Not really sure what this performance was about. They were eating ham and grapes and drinking wine. It made me hungry.

catron_outlaw

Lilian Garcia-Roig. I really liked these paintings. You could really feel the forest around you.

Lilian Garcia-Roig

Jimmy Joe Roche. I like paper cuts. I’m attracted to their fragility.

Jimmy Joe Roche

Ziwon Wang “Buddha_z in the steel lotus” was very alien like. I have never found Buddhas creepy except for these.

Ziwon Wang

Ziwon Wang

Emil Alzamora -Thought these sculptures were funny and cute but also a little depressing.

Emil Alzamora

Emil Alzamora

Emil Alzamora

Liao Yibai -“Superior Lions”. I am more of a sparkle person but I like these because they are shiny.

Liao Yibai

LiaoYibai

TYPOE I have seen this before at Scope Miami. There is something really gross that I like about it.

Typoe

Typoe

Daniel Bruce – Pieces from “Rustic Room”. I have said it before and I’ll say it again- I love neon.

Daniel Bruce

Tawnie Silva – Bright and fun. Plus I liked the sayings.

Tawnie Silva

Tawnie Silva

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

