Skip to content

Murakami in Qatar

February 9, 2012

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with Takashi Murakami. From the first moment I saw a painting of his in Venice in June 2003, I knew he was going to be big. I had never seen anything like his work before.

Starting today at the Al Riwaq Exhibition Hall in Doha, Qatar and running through June 24, he has a show called “Murakami -Ego”. This major retrospective includes early work, some of his recent large murals, and the 20 foot inflatable self-portrait seen below.

While I disagree with the fact that an artist like him has a lot of other people making his work, I can deny how much I admire his point of view or subject matter.

(Photos by Guillaume Ziccarelli & Gion)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

