Skip to content

Victoria & Albert sitting in a tree… (V&A Museum)

April 8, 2012

If you are going to London, the V&A is a must. I have been wanting to go there for a very long time and when I finally went, I spent about 4 hours there just wandering around.

They have so many things there that are just so wonderful- Little details of past cultures and civilizations which no longer exist. As I walked through the museum fascinated, I also became quite sad because so many things that required special artisans to make, are no longer valued or needed. Here are some things I saw.

Keys from all over Europe.

Hand guard for Japanese sword

Flatten instruments hung from ceiling. (Photo is looking down from floor above)

Silla Garriris AKABA chair

The textiles/fashion exhibit was closed because of an upcoming show but they did have some things.

Giles Deacon PacMan dress

Alexander McQueen dress from s/s 2010

Golden Spider Silk- When I saw this cape, I did not really realize what it was. Once I found out, I was in awe. This cape was made in Madagascar from naturally golden silk produced by the female golden orb-weaver spider. It took silk from over one million spiders to produce.

Spider silk is stronger and more elastic than the traditional silk produced from the cocoons of silkworms. However the cannibalistic nature of the golden orb-weaver makes it impractical to farm them.

Another wonderful exhibit in the V&A is the jewelry gallery. The gallery shows European jewelery during the last 800 years. It was a dream for me to see so many fantastic pieces.

You were not really allowed to take photos, so I have snagged some screen shots from the website.

These diamond ornaments also had a matching tiara.

Emerald 4 piece set

Necklace with sapphire pendant

When at the V&A you have to eat at the cafeteria. You can get descent lunch for about £9 and you can sit in this wonderful place.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2012 9:27 pm

    There is almost too much to see in the V&A – I nearly always intend to see one thing and then something else grabs my attention! They often have good lectures there too.

Trackbacks

  1. Cathedral of Nature « Things I See

Leave a Reply

