Skip to content

Yayoi Kusama at Tate Modern

April 13, 2012

I was never a fan of Yayoi Kusama until I saw her work at the Tate Modern. I always referred to her as the dot artist because her work has always used a lot of them. I will admit that I was not that familiar with her entire career though. Through her career she has worked in a wide variety of mediums which include painting, collage, sculpture, performance art and environmental installations (which the Tate showed). Before the show I had only seen some of her paintings and sculptures but, when I went to her retrospective at the Tate, I fell in love with her most recent work.

I always love going to the Tate Modern because of the exhibits they show, so I was not surprised how detailed and wonderful the exhibit was. It was one of the best shows I have ever been to.

These ‘net’ paintings were some of her early work.

A lot of her paintings dealt with texture and patterns.

Detail of painting above

Detail of another painting

Some of her recent paintings

Another detail of a painting

The infinity mirrored room, titled ‘Filled With the Brilliance of Life’ was the original reason I went to the show. It was a mirrored room that had all these little lights hanging at different levels. These lights changed colors and levels of light. It could be a little dizzying but it you just tried to concentrate on the mirror instead of the lights, it was easier to absorb.

Here is a video to show what it was like.

Louis Vuitton is one of those companies that supports art that I really like. They sponsored the Kusama show at the Tate (probably because they are doing a collab with her later this year) so some her sculptures were in some of their stores.

Leave a Reply

