Skip to content

Women in the Water

April 23, 2012

One evening I watched a group of Muslim women go swimming in the ocean. What captivated my attention was that one of the women was wearing a head to toe black burqa. Now this might be a common sight for someone who is from the Maldives (or any other Islamic country), but for me it was surprising and fascinating. I realized that I have never known this level of commitment for something that asks me to  hide a piece of myself. (*See translated verse about burqas from the Qur’an at the end of this post).

When I looked back at the photos I realized that they were out of focus. I now believe that they are an example of how I believe the female sex is often treated in Islamic culture.

“And say to the faithful women to lower their gazes, and to guard their private parts, and not to display their beauty except what is apparent of it, and to extend their headcoverings (khimars) to cover their bosoms (jaybs), and not to display their beauty except to their husbands, or their fathers, or their husband’s fathers, or their sons, or their husband’s sons, or their brothers, or their brothers’ sons, or their sisters’ sons, or their womenfolk, or what their right hands rule (slaves), or the followers from the men who do not feel sexual desire, or the small children to whom the nakedness of women is not apparent, and not to strike their feet (on the ground) so as to make known what they hide of their adornments. And turn in repentance to Allah together, O you the faithful, in order that you are successful”

Qur’an Sura Nur Chapter: The Light. Verse 31
One Comment leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 3:02 am

    In Egypt at AIn Soukna I saw women going fully clothed into the water. It was a funny contrast: them in their clothes and hijabs, and me scantily-clad in my bikini!

Leave a Reply

