Skip to content

Frieze New York 2012 Post 3

May 8, 2012

More of Frieze. Judging from the 2 previous posts I obviously loved a lot of it.

Robert Longo – I love Longo’s pieces. I don’t know anyone that can deny how wonderful his drawings are. The ones below (Jet) and (Untitled (Old Glory, North & South) were simply framed which made the drawings stand out even more.

Antonis Donef – Untitled – One of the themes of the fair was what looked like people drawing on newspapers. There was a range from, literally looking like doodles on the style section of the New York Times to the piece like the below.  The one below was more interesting to me because of the collage aspect. It reminded me of a map.

Mindy Shapero – Not titled yet – First I enjoyed the title immensely. Often artists are pressured to name their pieces -so I liked the anti-name.  The starburst-like forms and texture from the cut-outs were what attracted me most. But I also felt like it was very similar to the Bharti Kher piece below.

Bharti Kher – Stardust II – Saw pieces by this artist last year at the Armory show. Still enjoy her colors and style. I also loved that it was on a mirror.

Paulina Olowska – Natascha – I love the neon Russian theme. But what I thought was interesting was this artist’s other piece at the fair was so different. I really appreciate artists that are so diverse because so many believe you have to check only one box in the art world.

Sophie von Hellermann – September 01(explosion) – Such a wonderful set of paintings. It’s one of those things that could only be in a gallery or museum.

Ghada Amer – White Bang – Thought this piece was interesting from a far but then when I went up close and saw the faces, thought it was so cool. It felt like angels going towards the light.

Tom Sachs Principal – Flow Diagram

David Brian Smith – Bowerbird – Loved the texture and color. It reminded me of a quilt.

Danny McDonald – Have no clue how his pieces relate to each other but I thought they were cute.

Joshua Abelow – Represented by James Fuentes and took over his entire booth. I liked the way the drawings and the paintings were displayed. I think there is a lot of potential but it’s still a little rough for me.

Jennifer Rubell – Lysa I – The fair’s most popular interactive artwork. A life size Barbie doll female mannequin turned on its side that doubled as a functioning nutcracker. It was fun to play with!

Wasn’t a specific piece of art that I know of but I really liked this seating area.

To see my other posts about Frieze in New York click HERE & HERE

6 Comments leave one →
  1. david permalink
    May 14, 2012 10:29 pm

    Hi there, thanks for putting an image of the David brian smith painting up. Quilt is nice. The painting is actually called ‘Bowerbird’.
    If you aren’t familiar with the bowerbird check it out!
    Cheers from London

  2. May 15, 2012 8:09 am

    Hi there,
    Could you change the title of the David Brian Smith painting to correct details please.

    David Brian Smith
    Bowerbird
    180x150cm
    Oil On Herringbone Linen
    2011

    Thanks very much and look for to seeing your blog grow.
    Best
    David Brian Smith

  3. May 31, 2013 10:41 pm

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared
    your site in my social networks!

Trackbacks

  1. Frieze New York 2013 | Things I See

Leave a Reply

