Skip to content

Paris Eating

September 19, 2012

I have been to Paris enough times that I now have favorite places I like to go to eat. Of course I always try something new, but going to the places I love, is like going to a friend’s house for dinner.

One of the places I like to go is called Ferdi. It’s a small, trendy restaurant located at 32 Rue du Mont Thabor. The decor is a bit quirky- filled with random toys ranging from playmobil and stuffed animals to different taxis from around the world. It is pretty much open when the owners want it to be, (for a large part of when I was there the entire restaurant took a vacation) so I recommend trying to get a reservation. The food is French/Latin which means select dishes from both cultures. Some are tapas sized and others are bigger. We had the famous cheeseburger (known as the best one in Paris),  chicken stew on pancakes, macaroni & cheese (which was incredible-still can’t figure out all the kinds of cheese that were in it), tomato bread and a salad.

Another restaurant is Le Relais de l’Entrecote. There are several locations around the world but I favor the one at 15 Rue Marbeuf. There are no reservations so you have to stand in line and wait but, it is definitely worth it. The service is relatively fast compared to other Parisian restaurants. The menu is simple- salad, rib steak, fries and if you want it, wine and dessert. The steak is cut thinly and served with the most wonderful sauce. The Paris newspaper Le Monde reports that it is made from chicken livers, fresh thyme and thyme flowers, full cream, white Dijon mustard, butter, and water, plus salt and pepper. But who knows for sure.

The only advice I can give you is be prepared to eat the steak that they serve you, even if it is not exactly the level of doneness what you ordered. The waitresses will not be happy with you if you want to send it back.

A new find was the restaurant Spring. Recommended to me by my mother’s friend who had dined there last year. The decor is very industrial with white walls, brushed concrete floors, and metal accents. It’s located on 6 Rue Bailleul which is a small almost deserted street. The dinner was prix fixe – 5 courses of basically whatever Chef Daniel Rose wants to serve you. Of course if you have allergies or dietary restrictions they are happy to accommodate you but there are no vegetarian options.

In our courses there was not much cream or foam used. The food was clean and fresh but also progressive without being pushy. Very modern french.

One of the courses we had was pigeon (I found the prep photos below online).

I do not remember every detail of the meal, so I do not really feel comfortable describing the meal. I will say that there were a lot of surprises and I enjoyed every minute of the meal.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

