Skip to content

The Tale of Two Wells

May 9, 2014

8 years ago I traveled to a desert village an hour outside of Marrakech. I was there to meet a Berber family but had no idea how to pronounce what the village was called or where I was really going. Wandering around the area I saw this well on the edge of the village. This barren area of land surrounded it and I thought it was some kind of metaphor for hope and life. I cherished the black and white photo I took that day and the memory of the experience.
This time when I was in Marrakech, driving through the desert, I saw the well again. Not a well. The original one. Of course it seemed a bit crazy that I could recognize something that I saw so long ago and in an instant recognize it. But I had looked at the photo so many times and, like an old friend, there it was. I had no idea where I was physically but I knew, I knew that well. I knew it had to be the same one.
Now home, comparing the two photos that I took (you can see both below) I am wondering how old the well actually was? When was it made? How long was it standing there before I saw it? It did not look just built then, but I do not know how things age in a desert setting.
Marrakech Well 2006
Marrakech_well
Obviously in the last 8 years things have cracked, broken or no longer exist but, it did still look like the well was working to produce whatever it needed to survive. So I guess that’s the lesson of the wells (and this post). Life puts you through so many things- tests you, chips away pieces of yourself, even takes away things you hold dear. In the end, you have to do whatever needs to be done to survive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

