Skip to content

Unconventional beauty of Beatriz Milhazes

January 5, 2015

In 2003 I went to Venice and saw a painting by a Brazilian artist named, Beatriz Milhazes. I was shocked by its unconventional beauty. I had never seen anything like it before. The composition seemed to capture what i had always thought of Brazil to be- a beautiful tropical paradise with rough uneasy edges.

Now, 11 years later, on my recent trip to Miami I attended the Milhazes retrospective at the Perez Museum. For me to see the work of an artist who I believed could get to this level was inspiring. Standing in a room surrounded by Milhazes’ work, I believe that it is just as powerful now as the first day I saw it.
Below are the images I took at the show. (Some paintings are followed by detailed images).
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_1
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_1_detail
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_3
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_2
BeatrizMilahzes_pamm_15
BeatrizMilahzes_pamm_15_detail
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_4
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_4_detail
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_5
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_5_detail
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_6
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_6_details
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_7
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_8
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_8_detail
Beatriz_Milhazes_PAMM_9
To read more of my take on Beatriz Milhazes’ work click here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

