Skip to content

Slowly, Slowly said the Sloth

April 16, 2015

When you walk around Manuel Antonio National Park you see tons of wild life. Nothing really big and scary. (Though the sounds of the howler monkey are). Costa Rica actually represents nearly 4% of the total species estimated worldwide and is one of the 20 countries with the highest biodiversity in the world.
You see monkeys of all kinds, deer, a wide variety of insects and tropical birds, and (something I became obsessed with) sloths. For the most part there is an understanding when you enter the forest that is, you do not bother the animals and they do not bother you. Of course the monkeys that inhabit the beach choose to ignore this because they want your food but most of the other animals survive because of this rule. The photos below are some of the animals I saw.

White-headed capuchin monkey
costa_rica_monkey_04
costa_rica_monkey
Two Toed sloth

costa_rica_sloth
Three Toed sloth
Sloth_manuel_antonio_01
Sloth_manuel_antonio_02
Sloth_manuel_antonio_03
Sloth_manuel_antonio_04

As I said before I was obsessed

Spider Monkey
costa_rica_spider_monkey
Giant Grasshopper (Tropidacris cristata)
costa_rica_grasshopper
The following photo was taken of the elusive howler monkey. It is very rare to see this animal running on the ground but I was lucky enough to have it run right by me. Of course my camera did have trouble focusing because the forest was so dark and the monkey himself was black, so most of my photos were blurry. But the last photo I took, I thought was in focus until I looked at it. Keep in mind that I wanted to include the photo below in this post because I want to remind anyone out there that even in the most perfect situations, sometimes all you get are balls.

costa_rica_monkey_03

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

