Skip to content

Then there was one… Scope Miami

December 7, 2010

By the time I got to Scope my brain was so tired, I didn’t really know what was going on. The show was divided into interesting art and art that was kind of crappy. This Scope show was much larger than the one I went to last March in New York but I noticed a lot of the galleries that were there, were also in Miami showing the same thing. This annoyed me because its almost been a year, if it didn’t sell then its not going to sell now. On the other hand there were some new weird and wonderful things.

Asad Faulwell – Reminded me of Mexican art but can see how it could be Islamic. The color was much more vibrant in person.

Asad Faulwell Scope Deppe Parker

Dennis McNett – This was at the very front of the show. Overwhelming and so detailed.

Dennis McNett Scope Deppe Parker

Dennis McNett Scope Deppe Parker

Dennis McNett Scope Deppe Parker

D*FACE – Fun and playful but the first piece reminded me of Tom Otterness.

D*FACE Scope Deppe Parker

D*FACE Scope Deppe Parker

Enrique Gomez de Molina – If you have never seen or heard of this guy, you really need to. He makes the most amazing hybrid creature taxidermy pieces. Some of his work is a little creepy. But I love when he uses beetle wings for the skin like in this piece.

Enrique Gomez de Molina Scope Deppe Parker

Enrique Gomez de Molina Scope Deppe Parker

Enrique Gomez de Molina

FC Sofia

FC Sofia

Jen Stark – Hand-cut paper & foam core.

Jen Stark Scope Deppe Parker

Muir Vidler – Kids everywhere are the same.

Muir Vidler Scope Deppe Parker

Olek – When does art become an obsession or an obsession becomes art? Knit everything. Sorry but so weird.

Olek Scope

Olek Scope

Olek Scope

Ran Hwang – Cherry blossom trees made out of buttons.

Ran Hwang Scope

Ran Hwang

Ran Hwang

Tim Berg and Rebekah Myers – Anything from Dean Projects is usually fun. I especially liked this.

Tim Berg Rebekah Myers Dean Projects Scope

Not sure who this was by. But I liked it.

Leave a comment